Rivers of Belief
Mar. 24th, 2026 11:01 pmThere is something beyond identity. It's the soul. And it's the only thing that matters in the end. And when I love you, that is what I love.
I want to talk about astrology. Rant about it, more like. It's something I know a fair amount about. I know about the zodiac signs and their traits. I know about the “houses” and what areas of life they govern. I know about the planets themselves, including asteroids, and what they mean. How different placements interact. I even know that the old symbol for Scorpio was actually an eagle, which even most astrologers are unaware of. Western astrology – the twelve zodiacs we are familiar with – are literally lifted from Greek mythology, which for some reason millions of people believe in without realising it. Continuing with the Scorpio story, just for the sake of it, it was a scorpion that was sent by Gaia – the ancient Greek personification of planet Earth – to stop the warrior Orion from killing a bull (no doubt a direct connection to Taurus, the opposing sign).
In China there are also twelve zodiacs, but they're not based on constellations. They're based on the lunar year and an ancient myth about some animals racing each other. They all have elements and they rotate every turn. 2026 is the year of the Fire Horse, apparently.
I have a longtime friend. Dear, dear soul sister. But there are things she does that really piss me off, things she has no idea irritate me so much. I don't judge her for it at all. When you love someone you let them have their fun, if it's harmless, even if you don't really want to join in or understand why they're doing it. So she's really into astrology.
According to the traditional Western zodiac she's a Sagittarius (her sun sign, the zodiac everyone says they are even though it's more complex than that... it basically represents your ego or your core identity, the source of gravity that everything else revolves around and ultimately answers to). Now, I've known her for years. Almost a decade. I know she doesn't (or didn't) relate to being a Sagittarius until we came across the concept of Sidereal zodiac. This is where it gets convoluted.
Unlike the traditional system, which hasn't changed in thousands of years, “Sidereal astrology is a system that uses the actual positions of the stars and constellations to determine zodiac signs, accounting for the Earth's axial precession. This contrasts with tropical astrology, which is based on the seasons and a fixed zodiac that does not adjust for these astronomical changes.”
This configuration means that the sign you were born in is technically the one before that. So if you're born a Virgo under the tropical system, you're actually a Leo in the “more accurate” sidereal. And so my friend forced herself into one box when she couldn't fit into the other - though I see her using the two systems interchangeably so I guess it's like an expanded box.
Yet no one gives a fuck. Everyone uses the old tropical method that isn't even reading what's physically actually in the sky. They're just fixated on specific dates forever. The planets they tell you were there in the sky when you were born weren't actually there!
There's also something called the Draconic chart, which is a type of astrology that tells you what your birthchart in your past life was somehow. It's calculated on your moon sign - the zodiac and house your natal moon is was apparently your main/sun sign in your past life. Because we are so sure reincarnation can not only be calculated but described... The moon's South Node also tells you about your past life, it's always the opposite of your North Node which is interpreted as your destiny in this life, which is also your main thematic challenge or karma...
Then there's Ophiucus, the proposed thirteenth sign, also known as the Serpent Bearer, apparently situated between Scorpio and Sagittarius, but not incorporated by most astrologers for some reason. And just to be clear, the zoduac signs actually represent constellations of stars. The idea is which constellation was situated behind the planet on the day of your birth. If they were lights, for example, the planets would be casting their shadows. The deeper spiritual idea is that the signs and houses and planets are placed for you to grow into them or develop them, carrying on lessons and challenges from a past life. Or something, it's really not an exact science. People just accept what they're told without delving deeper into the why behind the how.
We are said to live in the Age of Aquarius, or transitioning into it. It's been said by the likes of famed occultist Aleister Crowley since the 19th century.
For my part, I could never find in my birth chart what everyone else was raving about. Neither in the tropical, nor sidereal, nor Chinese. I was more focused on what was different than what was relatable, I saw so many inaccuracies and generalisations. Even as I studied it out of curiosity, even as I got into the nuance of what it means to have a moon in this sign, or what the ascendant means for how people perceive me etc. I thought I was doing something wrong. So many of my friends were so into this, swore by it, dedicated study to it, some even charged money to interpret birthcharts and got glowing reviews. I started to see how astrology related to everyone else but not me, and so I felt left out, like maybe I was born under a different star. Where is my meaning and order? It's so satisfying to see your whole identity, your life, your destiny laid out in a literal detailed chart, every nuance explained, every layer dissected from the deepest levels to the most mundane. There's synergy charts, which lets you examine how your birth chart relates to your romantic interest. They're progressed charts – which I never got to fully grasp – which basically take into account how the current planetary alignments affect your birth chart, or how your own chart has changed over the course of time? There's dozens of systems, each one claiming to be more accurate or more relatable, and when you find one you think “ah, this is it! Now I can understand everything about myself.”
I tried this experiment from 2019 for the next couple of years.
I chose to relate myself to a different date as like my “spiritual” birth, if you will. I chose a specific date for this, which was actually very symbolic and meaningful, a few months after my birth. I do genuinely have an uncanny ability to vividly recall the earliest memories, and I remember that day.
I went to check the exact planetary chart for that day (tropical) along with the exact time of “birth” et voila! For the first time I saw a chart I could connect to. It was dynamic, passionate, idealistic, deep, full of intensity and the elements of water and fire battling between themselves, which I knew was literally me. From then on I interpreted every chart, every bit of astrological insights scattered throughout the web based on this fake birthday and thought “wow yes that is so me” and it went on and on and it was so fun, finally I could play with all the other girls (because, I'm sorry, way too many women take this shit seriously it's so embarrassing). I began to believe this was my order in chaos, my meaning. And it's kind of creepy how it creeps up on you, this programming. You truly begin to believe it's real, that it was always relatable and accurate, and you start to see it everywhere like a pattern over everything. To an outsider it sounds generalised but to you – it resonates, it makes sense, it feels right.
But it's not. It's like an NPC running a script. A system which is infused with the belief of millions, who are well aware it has nothing to do with science – nothing to do with astronomy or astrophysics. Objectively, astrology makes no sense whatsoever. Planets and stars and asteroids dictating human destiny based on the specific moment they were pushed out of their mother's womb sounds like someone in an insane asylum would come up with. Someone knowing what each planet does to the psychology of humanity.
I do believe in esoteric truths, such as the “As Above So Below” motto. The direct parallels between the microcosm and the macrocosm is undeniable and can be easily observable in science and mathematics. The fact that the spiral in your morning coffee reflects the shape of the Milky Way galaxy you live in is inherently mystical and awesome without ascribing any meaning to it. Nature is full of wonder and mystery even without meaning or answers, maybe that's precisely what makes them so beautiful. It's actually an extremely fascinating area of study once you start to look at it objectively. But we are indeed fools if we do not verify this for ourselves, with our own reason, common sense and gut instinct.
Astrology is a fable. They tell you “it's just for fun” until they start adjusting behaviour, following a pattern, subconsciously aligning themselves with what they've been told they are. This is how people become boring and predictable. Yet I sincerely understand the appeal. I needed it, just like so many other beliefs I've had and tried and discarded. When your life is full of chaos and uncertainty, and your pattern-recognition and creative problem solving skills are in overdrive, you cling to these symbols that were literally designed with you in mind. I know this because I actually chose to believe in it, against my better judgment, against what I knew to be true, I started to see what they saw in everything and everyone around me like putting on a new pair of glasses. To be the odd one out who cringes every time someone talks about astrology is an alienating experience, frustrating too. They think you're the weird one, because it's so widespread and to question it is rude. It's like trying to take away someone's favourite toy when you know they're too old for it. They know you're right, that there is no logic, but when you corner their delusions they insist it's just for fun.
The Gnostics had it right. They openly blasphemed against Hellenic philosophy and religion. They considered astrology to be a prison – each planet was presided over by an archon or a lord, who ruled that planet and the destinies of humanity, nations and events (because, believe it or not, countries and events also have birth charts... USA is Cancer for example, its birth is equated with the signing of the Declaration of Independence. July 4 is Cancer season.). Each planet was a layer in the trap. They were to be defied, fought against, liberated from. The Hellenics, meanwhile, considered the cosmos to be perfect as clockwork, a harmony so exquisite that to defy it was the gravest sin one could commit. Astrology wasn't just a fashionable personality guide like it is today, it was a guide on a balanced and correct life in accordance to the cosmic order and it was taken to be as legitimate as any science or philosophical treatise. What does it mean today? When a myriad of different belief systems are wrestling for attention, where occultism is a soup of Western and Oriental traditions from chakras to Biblical angels? There are so many filters people use to experience reality in an inauthentic way. What is everyone so afraid of? Afraid of facing the unknown? Afraid of realising they have to make their own myth? That's what one of my favourite artists said, Salvador Dali. He said it was essential to mythologise your own life, your own birth. He didn't mean in it a sense of following a pre-established system which has already expired centuries ago. It's about looking deeper into your own life and starting to see patterns and symbols unique to you. That's why I never look to a dream intepreter to understand what my dreams mean, for example. Because my symbols are unique to me. They come from my waking life, and can mean something completely different to someone else's symbol. To weave your own myth, to bring your own chosen symbols into your life, that takes creativity and effort and a level of individualism that most people are incapable of. While everyone else is clinging to Greek or Chinese myths, running on neatly packaged systems, I choose to create my own archetypes, my own myths, my own stars which do not exist in the sky above me but the one within me. I seek a narrative, I enjoy patterns and things that are coherent and eventually aligned. There is a world in each one of us, so why are we always looking outward for meaning and harmony?
Yesterday Neptune entered the sign of Aries, according to mainstream astrology this is a “generational shift” now. People attribute popular disillusionment with social media on this. They point to how the last time Neptune was entered this sign there was a Civil War in the US, so they wonder if it's going to happen again. Which also reminds me how, despite the fact that the tropical astrological system runs on Greek myth, the planets themselves are named after Roman gods. Aries, for example, comes from Ares. Aries rules Mars. Ares was the Greek god of war, Mars is the Roman equivalent. So if you have Mars in Aries it's like. God of war rules god of war.
Oh, and let's not forget Pluto. Astrologers didn't even account for its existence until the 1930s yet they pretend like it was always there. Now it has the sign of Scorpio attached to it somehow (which is also associated with Mars somehow, like Aries) and Pluto rules generational shifts. So like Neptune. Yeah, the planets after Saturn are considered to have more “broad” effects, to be more social or spiritual in nature.
And you've probably heard about the Mercury retrograde craze. Every time that happens people swear every little problem is because of Mercury retrograde. They'll tell you don't travel because that's a riskier period. Watch your words because it's miscommunication season. Oh my god, shut up! What of the exceptions? What about us people who have a completely normal time? When you tell them “I don't relate to my zodiac” they'll insist it depends on the “rest of your chart” oh really? My mother and her childhood best friend were born on the same exact day in the same town yet they couldn't be more different as people. Astrologers would insist it depends on the exact hour and minute, like that can make a huge difference... my mother also dismissed astrology, it was too unrelatable even when generalised. How far are we willing to go? It's honestly Biblical at this point. Cherry-picking the Old Testament or misquoting the gospels or misinterpreting Jesus. It never ends, this cacophony of symbols and archetypes and everyone looking outward for meaning and depth. What is it costing us? Is it worth it?
The truth about astrology is that people choose to believe in it, they choose to filter their lives and live according to inherited and invented archetypes, myths and symbols. Who decided what Jupiter governs? Whoever decided the current state of astrology, there is no authority, no way to prove it like you can with the scientific method. It's a collective and they say that's proof enough, because it endured and people still believe. It boggles my mind, how in an age where the living universe is explained in detail along with the human body, where the wonders of scientific discovery are at the fingertips of every mind open to learning, people still choose to believe in made-up stories full of holes. Ancient dreams are borrowed from extinguished civilizations and passed off as spiritual truth. I am honestly so tired of "ancient wisdom" so often it's not even real.
I shall try a new experiment now. Make up my own mythos, my own seasons, my own zodiacs. It's whatever. I am already aware I have internal weather systems. Maybe one way to understand, predict and prepare for them is to turn them into symbols of my own. The only thing I worry is when is my patience with astrology gonna run out. It's so hard to avoid when your friends are into it. Ugh.

I began this research project with the intention of basically figuring it out what it means to be a woman, mainly in the Western hemisphere. To start off, I was going to look at Judeo-Christian religion, I was going to go over the sexual revolution of the 60s and 70s and how it got us to today. But my intentions did not quite go according to plan, despite my detailed notes, my neatly presented plans, my list of reading & watching material. There was about a week between Christmas of 2025 into the second week of January 2026 where I was very sick, I couldn't focus due to irritation, pain and nausea. The best I could do is let my ideas brew, the concepts turning over in my head as I turned over to sleep on the other side. As I read Sylvia Plath's poetry, I already felt like my trajectory might change, or the meaning might. Then I went looking for something, I don't know what, images. I came across images of women. Women who had something special in my eyes. Who seemed real. Not performative. I began to realise something else; the concept of the divine feminine dissolved right before my eyes. I already knew it was an illusion, and I have noticed a growing trend of other women who are realising how silly and damaging the concept is. I thought I would arrive at this revelation through rigorous study, logic, rebuttals. I thought this was something I'd have to argue and fight for, given my personal history, that I'd had to take a hitherto undiscovered side or potentially controversial take. But what I saw in these women was… Humanity. Being a person. They are attractive, alluring, beautiful and fascinating not because of what they look like or what they're wearing or how they want to seem. It's because womanhood does not define their personality, their mind, their heart. Biologically, they are female - that is a fact, not a tool nor a privilege nor a curse. It is what it is. I have struggled with my gender identity, from the extremes of dysphoria in adolescence to a simple frustration regarding social expectation. I never met any women who were like me, and I went to a girls' only Catholic school. I wasn't even a tomboy, per se. I just felt like I was the wrong shape, psychologically, to become a woman. I was obsessed with my body, my reproductive functions, my sexual organs, my psychology and whether I was privileged or disadvantaged. Was I a victim of the patriarchy or was that a false belief, a self-fullfilling prophecy? How many feminine traits I reject because of what they're associated with, how many are authentic - or is it all a psy-op to keep men and women and everyone in between separated? Was this an attempt to force social order, whose price was the sacrifice of genuine connection beyond barriers and identities?
I'm still going to go ahead with the same plan but I think I'll have to change the tone or the narrative a bit. This is not turning into an argument or a fight for "true womanhood" as I assumed. It's so much deeper than that. It's about being a natural & free human beyond social constraints, expectations, limiting beliefs and fears. This does not feel like the victory I am seeking, rather a liberation of a different caliber. Not sexual. Something I cannot yet name, but it's something that I already am and always have been, something I couldn't see about myself, how pointless it is to entangle myself in gender constructs. I am a woman but that does not mean I cannot be exactly who I want to be and how I want to be, or care about how I am perceived.
There was another major thing.
As I was looking for the sources of these artistic images, I accidentally stumbled upon a Japanese account on X and got a psychological whiplash so strong it made me nauseous (and it's not my medication this time). I was deep in my thoughts about these women I could relate to, that inspire me, that I resonate with and idolise. I was excited, on the verge of a breakthrough. And I opened X to look for more art and beauty and instead I was hit with a well-endowed woman who was publicly bouncing her tits (fully clothed though) on video, smiling, putting up a peace sign. More photos revealed her showing off her tits some more, her sweaty armpits, she was getting a lot of attention and seemed happy, but it made me sick. It seems to stand against everything that these other admirable women embody - the artists, muses, intellectuals, scientists, activists, fighters etc. it's like a slap, an insult to what it means to be a woman. Or, hell, human.
(this is made by a Chinese artist, Guta2046 or 古他里 pronounced "Gu Ta Li"... the image whose source I was looking for before being bombarded by bodacious boobzzz)
I sought to understand this sickness and I could barely keep up with the thoughts that were rushing into my consciousness.
Sexual revolution, feminism, sex-positive rhetoric - those are the things I seek to understand because of how irritating they always seemed to me. I couldn't exactly find the right words, or why they felt so wrong to me, since I'm no conservative or religious person. I knew I'd arrive at the truth during my research because that's how my brain works. I feel something I can't name and then suddenly, unpredictably, it clicks and everything makes sense. This was one such moment, and it took me off-guard.
Part of me felt pity for this woman. The other part of me thought "good for her, it's a free world, let her do what she wants if she is happy with herself" but this latter statement tasted bitter, false like an artificially flavoured gummy. That's what made me nauseous. That's what I was told over and over and over since forever. It's the same disgust I felt as a child watching women like Britney Spears and Beyonce and Lady Gaga look like hookers and strippers while dancing and singing aggressively sexual vapid songs. Something I just didn't see men doing in equal measure, something that felt deeply messed up but I could never find the words to justify my feelings since I knew my feelings have absolutely nothing to do with praising modesty or restraint or anything like that, something unnamed was disturbing me. It's been a splinter in my psyche my entire life, one of many different splinters I aim to pull out in my new series of essays - searching for answers and truth out there, not within... I always enjoyed looking through Playboy magazines and did not feel any disgust at the women I saw, and this again mystified me. Was I a hypocrite? Was I jealous or insecure? Was it "internalised misogyny"? Or was I seeing something that I hadn't yet heard any woman mention - at least not any women who were young, liberal or apolitical, non-religious.
One source of disgust I was able to describe, in the flash of revelation that it followed.
Ideologically, I believe that there is a line between erotica/sensuality and sexual appeal targeted towards the so-called "male gaze" - to extract attention, money and desperation from them purely by jiggling tits and ass. The most base, vulgar thing. And yet it is a thing that takes on an entirely different nature when this sexuality is exclusive, privatised, maybe even hidden. Maybe repression - the kind I had - has made my sexuality especially potent and difficult to control. When you are a single woman who is looking for attention or affection, walking the line between being a temptress and a woman simply secure in her own skin is a line I didn't know existed until I crossed it. I did not realise the effect this would have on the men around me. I spoke a language that wasn't mine, even if it meant what I wanted it to mean. I never blame anyone for misunderstanding me, it's my responsibility to understand myself first or nothing clear or solid will come out of me.
I was disgusted at that Japanese lady not because she was showing off her body for profit. It's the concept that such a thing can be profitable, shared, published. I still strain to explain why, tears are threatening to pool into my eyes and I don't even understand why. Because I believe that there is a line between obviously trying to arouse strangers and eroticism - which is artistic, mystical, sensual, detached, both human and transcendent. Uninhibited lust attracts perversion while sensuality invites conscious desire. They are not the same, but neither is exactly better or worse than the other, which I'll try to explain later.
This reminds me of a Chinese neighbour I once had befriended. She was engaged to an Irish photographer based in Dublin whose specialty was nude photography. Not like that. I went to his studio, I saw his work. They were art. The classical kind. He chose fit, athletic models where you could see the muscles, tendons, the shapes of peak human strength - and they were all women. He was an extremely intelligent person as well as kind, not a creep or pervert of any kind. Last summer I went to an art gallery with my uncle - there were paintings of the naked female form, stunning pieces I'd actually buy. They invite and arouse a completely different part of the mind. Not separate from animalism and lust but not bound to it, eroticism is a higher state, and it's also strangely innocent - because the naked body is not inherently sexual, only in certain contexts. A contemplation more than anything. Ultimately, what it comes down to, is my belief that eroticism and sensuality is what can and should be shared and publicised - as art, beauty, contemplation, idealism. Photographic classicism. But carnal arousal? Very obviously working to give someone a boner? That should be aimed at someone close, personal, private. No one should have easy access.
I don't have an opinion on OnlyFans, sex work, strippers etc. people who get paid. It's pointless to moralise because selling sex is known as one of the oldest, if not the oldest, professions in human history. The only thing I want to do is encourage a different kind of sexuality to be celebrated in our culture/society - the kind that feels like holding your breath while yearning for more, rather than rising heat that ends up making you lose control because it's so aggressive and in your face. It's the difference between pressing buttons and simply... stroking them.
In my teens I had a phase that pretty much changed my life. I became obsessed with Japanese geisha. They are a representation of everything I am trying to express here but struggle to. They were female artists - performers, entertainers. But the exact opposite of what you'd imagine - they were not courtesans nor prostitutes. Their bodies were not for sale (this is a myth that began spreading after WW2) but their sensuality was. Their mystique. Their otherworldly charms and playful flirtations. Men had tea and chats. They could become patrons, if they were rich, they could conceivably have a geisha as a mistress but that was not why men went to geisha houses. They went for company, entertainment, banter and beauty - I was completely gobsmacked when I found out about this, because geishas sold something that had nothing to do with sex, even though sensuality was present. Everything about geisha is designed to invite hidden desires not because of what they reveal but because of what they conceal. Even their make up - the white face paint - is carefully considered - the back of their neck is always bare, and the white make up neatly forks around natural skin. To the Japanese, this was erotic. It was erotic because geisha were not to be touched or loved, they were part of an aesthetic tradition in Buddhism known as the Floating World - they were representations of otherworldly beauty, love and desire... Now they are almost an extinct establishment and mostly exist to entertain tourists. Go back further in history and you'll find that, like so many things, being a geisha was initially a male profession. Anyway, my research into geisha as a 13-14 year old was the moment I became intensely fascinated with Japanese traditions and history. It had a profound impact on me because their modesty was not like the oppressive repression of Judeo-Christian culture I grew up in. Though modesty is not the right word either, because prostitution was legal when geishas were in operation. You could choose, as a man, which road to take. Meanwhile, wives had no reason to judge their husbands or feel jealous if they went to see geisha. It was a common understanding that geisha existed outside of mundane society and were not bound by the same rules - they were artists and they were meant to be unattainable.
This industry - of selling beauty, romance and attention - has evolved in Japan into cafes and clubs, catered to both men and women by choice. I don't have my notes with me right now, but they do have a term for it, and it's pretty popular. The concept is similar, but the spiritual aspect is swapped for materialism. They will give you a good time, of course, but they will do everything they can to keep you spending as much money as possible and get you as drunk as they can while making you feel like a king/queen. No touching or kissing, just attractive people doing their best to entertain you whether through music, performance, games, jokes, playful flirtation or stimulating conversation. Even this version is difficult to imagine in a Western country, unless you count Hooters or something.
Final note is a very dumb one.
I was once a fan of something called The Cancer Crew on YouTube circa 2016. The key members were George Miller (then known as Filthy Frank or Pink Guy), Idubbbz, Maxmoefoe, Anything4Views, How To Basic, with honourable mention of Ethan Klein. They have since all gone their own separate ways, with George Miller completely leaving his old persona behind to become a successful musician. But one member, Idubbbz, has done the opposite. He's become something called a lolcow. Why am I talking about this? In case you don't know anything about this, Idubbs - Ian - started losing the public's respect after he declared that he is "fine" with his girlfriend (later his wife) having an OnlyFans account and making money off of her sexuality. His self-respect, confidence, creativity, energy - everything that made him famous - was gradually lost and chipped away while evidence of Anisa abusing him, mocking him and controlling him became more and more obvious to the point that even trolls started feeling sorry for him. I was fascinated by his downfall being so obviously associated with his very public relationship. Anisa really did ruin his career. It's not "woman-hating" for me to say that, she's genuinely a terrible person and she humiliated Ian beyond redemption at this point. The worst thing is that he allows his humiliation, encourages it, and considers himself a feminist for doing so, for allowing her to do what she wants to him, say the most nasty things about him on stream. He's dead inside. I was obsessed, because he is nothing like he used to be before her. NOTHING alike.
You cannot love someone while selling your body to strangers. Nor can you respect yourself while your partner sells themselves to strangers. I'm sorry, but you can't. That's some kind of narcissism or humiliation fetish or something.
There is something about monogamy I want to say, but it's again difficult to describe right now because I don't want to sound conservative or traditional when I am most certainly not. I don't judge swingers or people in polygamous (consensual) relationships even those sound like chaos that never ends well imo. But there is something beautiful about mutual possession in a relationship. Having exclusive rights to your partner and their body, and them to yours. Possessiveness gets either romanticised or demonised. People say it's either a red flag or they go feral over it, especially women. I never cared for it. But now I think it's beautiful. It feels safe, like coming home. Home is where your guard comes down, when clothes become loose, words are unnecessary, energy is relaxed. That's the ideal, isn't it? This is the perfect energy in which to let loose. Strangers could never give this, no matter what they give or what they promise. To seek approval and attention from them, therefore, is to attempt to empty a cup of water into an ocean. It is self-abandonment too, because desire and confidence should always come from within first. And now I worry, parasocially, what will happen to that big-boobed Japanese lady when she gets old? Not only that, but I know for a fact that having breasts of her size is a burden no woman should ever go through. Especially the smaller than average Japanese frame - I guarantee she has back pain, can never find a comfortable sleeping position, struggles (or has struggled) to find the right bra and fitting clothes. Not to mention the harassment from men and hate from women. If those breasts are actually real and not augmented, she was absolutely bullied in school by other girls. I don't know her story, but these are the kinds of things thirsty dead-eyed men ogling at her and giving her attention wouldn't even consider. I want to know what drives a woman to do this to herself? If that's something that should be condemned or mocked, I want to be the one to do it. But I want to be sure my pity is deserved, or whether women like this deserve to be bullied a little for the shame they bring to themselves as human beings, let alone as women.
That's part of why this research project is so important to me. To see more than meets the eye. Not to reject femininity, but reject the things that blind us (or me) to the truth of what people go through. Because while our experiences in the world and society and in our bodies can shape us, I firmly believe we are more than the sum of our parts. There is a soul. There is art and intellect. There is something that separates us from animals, even though we are animals, we do not quite belong. It is within that alienation from the natural world that's at the core of my fascination with understanding what it means to be human. Eroticism and sensuality is that which transcends the mere animal - that's what should be selling, what should be revered, celebrated for and by everyone. Eroticism is literally designed to be not only artistic but enticing - inspiring curiosity and exploration, savouring. Not a "fuck and cum" urgency that a big titty or big dick nice abs or whatever hot triggers a person you don't even know personally may try to press against you. There is a time and place, I really do believe that matters. That's why porn doesn't bother me at all. Bots aside, if it stays in its lane I see nothing immoral with it. What I hate is when it seeps into places it doesn't belong, where it cheapens everything. When it thrusts itself upon me without me looking for it. I feel like the 60s and 70s crossed boundaries that we couldn't really backtrack on without sounding like prudes or align with the political right. Maybe it's time we tried. Maybe women should be mocked, if they deserve it, without being able to use their perceived victim status as a shield from criticism and accountability... Enough.
I may not have explained myself clearly. That's what I'm working on. But a thing just clicked and I had to write it down. It's so weird and exciting to explore ideas that I haven't heard expressed before. I only feel them, I see glimpses of them. I know there is something special about Sylvia Plath, the first female creator/intellectual I ever connected to. What would she think about OnlyFans, I wonder? She died in 1963, before the sexual revolution really took off but it was on its way. What would she have to say about third wave feminism? What would she say about Instagram models and filters and fillers and boob jobs? "More power to her" or "what happened to decency"?
Brigitte Bardot died recently. She was coined as the "quintessential sex kitten" and she was quite confident and aware of her sexual appeal, but she was no dumb blonde. She was an activist, who fought against racism and advocated for animal rights all her life. What I see when I look at her is sensuality, the objective perfection of female beauty, but that's because she was authentic. She has a special spark that goes beyond physical beauty. She was outspoken, brave, intelligent, kind, talented. She was more than the sum of her feminine parts and I guess this is where I can sign off. I feel like that spark isn't as celebrated as it used to be. Women used to be beautiful even if they looked "weird", especially in the 70s and 80s. It's interesting to look at how the ideal female beauty changed over the decades when you look at supermodels that graced magazine covers - where are the Grace Jones' of today? She was stunning, an ethereal, almost alien beauty. I think she was breathtaking - but she had an incredibly sharp mind, she was eloquent, elegant, piercing, even intense. I must mention a Japanese model of the 70s/80s era as well - Sayoko Yamaguchi. Her beauty was likewise not typical for the Japanese ideal, at least not the one that has dominated East Asia since sometime in the 90s. Actress Meiko Kaji is my personal muse/ideal, her whole vibe is something I resonate with heavily. They weren't "masculine" they simply represented a femininity that edged beyond easy categorisation - because they weren't soft, not "girly" or maternal or really any of the classical archetypes women can be put into. They revealed a groundedness, a strength, a courage that is more common and unifying between humans, I think; they're merely presented in a different form, the yin to yang. They were women who belonged deeply to themselves first, above anything or anyone else. That's what I see in those images and what I feel is non-existent today - or if it is, those women don't share themselves, they're out there living their best lives and staying away from social media or entertainment industry. Maybe that's what it is. Every piece of your real life displayed online seems performative, exhibitionistic, if you're under the age of 30 at least.

(Sayoko Yamaguchi)
(Sayoko in an Yves Saint Laurent photoshoot in 1977... because ofc it's YSL)
For all its "intersectionality" feminism has become a mess that does more harm than good. Feminists are afraid to be controversial so instead they come off as unhinged. They over-identify with femininity and the fucking MAGA freaks are doing the same, mocking transgender people, lecturing what a "real woman" should be. Young men thinking that saying "your body my choice" isn't horrifying as fuck, and there are women who are like "yes daddy" it's a fucking crisis waiting to happen, I swear. Women's rights are being eroded in the subconsciousness of Western culture - maybe not in my generation, but the ones after me will have to struggle to be seen as people, I already see it happening at least in America (we in Ireland know what a disease their trends can be, unfortunately). Maybe I'm wrong. I hope I am. But reducing a woman to the sum of her parts is something I feel I was born to resist. It's in the pattern of my life, in my psyche, and the reason I need to get this essay done and done well. At the end of the day it's about being human and being free to be yourself more than anything, whether that means being a hopeless romantic and horny as fuck or not.

I never considered myself a hoarder nor sentimental. I have moved more times than I can count, so I've gotten used to getting rid of stuff from an early age, whether or not I wanted to. I believed it was always my destiny to arrive while being in a state of departure in every facet of my life. The older I became, the more detrimental this belief became.
But what I never considered was that collecting digital information, files, history and bookmarks is actually a type of hoarding. I store my documents and files in at least three different emails, Dropbox, and an external drive. Every year I create a new folder on my computer, simply titled as the year, and in it I store everything I accumulate during the year, mostly images, screenshots, videos and text documents. I've been doing this since 2019 but that was just the organisational part; I've been storing digital data long since before then.
I was looking for something specific (it might be on another computer) a file where I wrote down what kind of things I wanted to photograph. The new phone I purchased doesn't take great photos compared to the cheaper old one I had which I purchased specifically for its photographic functions. Long story short, I'm planning to get back into photography. I have an old digital camera that doesn't turn on for some reason but if I can get it working I could resume my hobby without an unnecessary expense.
I haven't found the file (I don't even know if it's labelled tbh) but what I found might be more valuable. Notes from a Brazilian friend of mine I knew between 2015-2018. She was sometimes remarkably wise beyond her years, she would surprise me with advice and reassurances that seemed to come from another life, since she was otherwise quite emotional, frivolous, lost in fantasy worlds and being the biggest hopeless romantic I've ever met in my life. They say we are merely an accumulation of all the people we have ever known. I used to be nothing like her when I knew her, but now we would surely have much more in common I think. Though it still takes a lot for me to cry in front of people or even in private...
These were the contents of the simple text file, titled “to remember 2.txt”:
1. When you work hard at something you become good at it.
2. When you become good at doing something, you will enjoy it more.
3. When you enjoy doing something, there is a very good chance you will become passionate or more passionate about it.
4. When you are good at something, are passionate and work even harder to excel and be the best at it, good things happen.
naryamirie
"(...)all of these have a common problem: to reach their own illumination, they don't want to pay the price demanded by it - the price of pain.
It doesn't matter if you're a Hare Krishna, a monk or anything, the spiritual journey, in any age, has always demanded and will always demand a deep and necessary state of pain - in this case, the pain of retirement, the pai of loneliness, of the isolation within oneself."
naryamirie
"Of course I'm not talking about a 'spiritual weekend getaway', with a spirituality workshop included. I'm talking about the necessity to pass through the lonely crucible that's the process of discovery of oneself and that by itself generates pain, because it means to walk a totally unknown path, negating every and any morals, abandoning any principle coming from others, and obeying only the voice of one's own soul."
be perceptive, strive for the ugly truth, don t settle for the seemly, learn to trust in the something greater, learn to trust yourself, face your fears, journey through the loss of ego, don t tolerate less than you deserve, come to know how to transmute, the ultimate rebirth, break barriers that keep you from intimacy, understand that intimacy is not only between bodies, explore your body and trace every silver-lining, know that you are here for a reason, accept what is beyond you, recognize fault and injustice, admit your wrongs and learn your truth”
This is serendipitously relevant because it's something I've been thinking about and talking about for the past few days.
I cannot remember the exact context of our conversation, but seeing it next to steps to “making stuff” it clicks. It clicks because creating, for me, is not just about performance. It's not just about seeming impressive, intelligent, talented or like I've got something to express that hasn't been said before.
Creation is essentially spiritual and deeply existential, unconscious. To share it with others is opening your heart, your mind, to scrutiny.
There is a tactic that abused people have. You have abandonment issues so you leave before someone else leaves you first. You expect mockery so you mock yourself first, hide it with jokes. You are proud and confident but you know the fragility of your own ego, you've seen too many times how people fall victim to their own delusions of their abilities, so you act humble when praised or acting bashful when you've just shared something you know is good – but just in case it isn't, your mind says, I've already criticised you thoroughly before anyone else could do worse.
It's a sort of meat-grinder, taking a pure idea or vision, expressing it – and during the expression and sharing phase – attaching your own ego to it.
It's funny because you know better than to judge the artist by his art, whatever the case may be, but when it comes to you – to your creative impulse – suddenly you're reading what you wrote or regarding what you've sketched or photographed or filmed or whatever – and you're thinking “is this good enough? What does this say about what kind of person I am? Will anyone find this valuable?” And the questions never end.
I guess this is the closest to parenthood I can get to.
Something you created seems to be made of your own mental and emotional essence, but once it's out, once you share it, how much of it is truly yours now – copyright claims aside – now that it has entered the consciousness of other people, does it not have a life of its own now?
But even with children, people often judge parents more than the child, whether for good or bad things, even if the child has a certain level of autonomy. Even in adulthood parents can take credit or blame, even if their influence is not as ironclad as they may believe.
Taking on so much responsibility for a piece of work is a desire to control the outcome. But take a look at the greatest works, especially in modern times. Music hits, cult classics, classic literature and even poetry or plays or viral videos. How many of them were carefully constructed, poised to become great? Only the ones that had millions of dollars and promotional content pumped into them. The things that become great, once they leave the comfort of your consciousness, are not dependent on whether they're polished. There is no formula for greatness. And this void produces a peculiar kind of ache in the soul whose greatest source of despair is to be nothing. To be acutely aware of a nebulous sense of purpose, but spending a lifetime looking for it and then fading away in a miserable life of half-finished projects and halfway relationships. To break through the sea of noise is an exceptional feat. How do people do it? If there is no formula, who picks the next big thing? It seems greatness is a matter of fate. Accepting it sounds like the sensible thing to do but the fear of having something important to express, working hard at it, and never getting results is literally my worst nightmare. It sounds dramatic but it seems like my entire purpose in life is founded on this principle. My whole life I had a sense that I was meant to do something important. I knew normal life wasn't for me. Even as a child I had this weird sense of destiny. I would look at people, families, careers, hobbies, everything other people had that made life comfortable, stable, interesting, linear. I thought “I'd love that, but I'm supposed to sacrifice that in order to do what I was born to do.” It's funny remembering this now. Part of me was unconscious, but part of me knew exactly why I did what I did. Why I made the choices I did. Why I refused to follow the linear path, why I insist on existing outside the system one way or another. And maybe it's all leading to this moment right now.
I'm trying something new with my creative projects. I'm tired of these games, of nothing ever working out, yet I never give up trying. My mind is a puzzle I'm determined to figure out. I know a part of my problem is my psychological affliction which I have yet to address but this year is the year. I don't have the luxury of substance abuse to smooth out the edges of my work, though different options are on the table should things not improve.
I guess for now all I can do when creating something is do it in whatever way that distracts me from my obsession with perfection and worth. But even thinking about it frustrates me because I think, if it's not good enough and it's not worth much, why would I share it with anyone?
I swear, social media has co-opted and perverted the very concept of sharing. Everything is sharing and it seems what is more valuable is what is private and difficult to access. But as a creative person, as someone who wants to be in the public eye – to fucking contribute something – I can't be shy about it. To believe that the right people will notice what's real and what's performative, to have faith in your magnetism, because stranger things do happen. Like the time I became friends with Kristen Pfaff's nephew (she was Kurt Cobain's friend, died a few months after him, and was the bassist of Courtney Love's band Hole – I am a fan of Kristen), or was liked and followed on Instagram by the art director of a famous Japanese musician.
This reminds me of a stupid fucking problem I've been struggling for the past 10 years, but have since gotten over. I had countless social media accounts all across the web but I always deleted my accounts if they got too many followers or too much attention. I made some viral posts on Tumblr, which I will not divulge. I've gotten my tweets liked by several famous people over the years before I deleted my account. One stupid video I made on YouTube last year got 20,000 views, the most I ever got, and it's just video game footage. These things are both reassuring but there is a sort of panic that takes over me when I get what I asked for. It's the kind of person I am. I am much more comfortable dreaming and yearning and hoping. I can't handle being blessed and maybe that's my issue.
I dream of greatness yet greatness also terrifies me.
You see, there is no going back.
Greatness is transformative. And in today's age, people will be digging up your past, if you get great enough.
When I was a teenager I imagined myself getting famous and disguising myself like Daft Punk. I was intrigued by Gorillaz, Burial and Banksy. Especially Banksy, especially now that I actually went to see his genuine exhibition in Amsterdam in 2025. There were signs he had been there, he had written on the walls, made little marks among the various memorabilia. I wasn't allowed to take pictures, interestingly enough, and bags were claimed by security. Recently he made a new piece in UK, he's unpredictable and it's always special when someone recognises signs of his activity scattered throughout the world. Anonymity despite fame is a fascinating combo and a part of me believes that this may be the only real way to divorce yourself from public backlash or public worship, in case either happens. I'm on the fence about whether or not to reveal myself online in the future, whether to use my real name in a published work or some sort of pen name. I go back and forth with selfies on Instagram and X, upload them then delete them at some point. It's like I want to be seen but sometimes I wonder if that's a good idea. I envy my friends who can be all normal about it or even romanticise themselves with dreamy filters and cinematic edits. There are advantages to being unseen as well as seen. But in an age where exposure for attention is such a major trend... Maybe being a public secret would stand out more. Or maybe it will sink further into the background.
I know I'm rambling a lot, but sometimes I need to clarify some things through writing. Sometimes I don't really know what I'm thinking until I write it down.
Persist because the pain persists. Maybe, eventually, it will start to feel like pleasure. And maybe that's all that matters.
I have so many other files scattered throughout different drives and devices. It could become a new theme now, where I still talk about the past but now it's about the things I've forgotten I had or knew about? There has to be some value in all that mess. I kept it for a reason.

